Hi Folks! from a German but Cricket lover and our new co-author

Today I am very excited to tell you guys that this Reverse Swing thing I started about 5 months ago has achieved a little milestone. I never though of it would as it was just a new adventure for me as I am always looking for new things to do to avoid similarities in daily life. But this thing has grown little bit more than I anticipated. It is attracting some visitors and I made some very very good friends over here, yeaaah!!!.

So what is new? I got a co-author. She is native German but had developed very good appetite and eye for cricket. What she brings to this place is her light, brief but interesting posts which this place needs a lot as I mostly drawn into serious things as I am crazy, obviously.

Ok enough of me, here is how she introduce herself and her love for cricket and her tragedies while following Pakistan cricket *lol*. I truly and whole heartedly welcome her aboard.

*********************************************************************************

Hello guys and girls, my name’s Wes, I’m a cricket fan from Germany, native German not an immigrant, thus fairly new to the sport but utterly addicted and mad. Mudassar aka Maddy The Mad offered me to write a post on his blog every now and then and I’m very thankful for this opportunity and his willingness to let me ruin his blog hehe. Apologies for my unstylish English.

Anyway, initially I started to follow Australia but broadened my interests to the Kiwis and Saffas, and now I’ve also been supporting Pakistan for a short while and it is killing me.

I have grey hair with single tufts torn out with desperation, and my heart goes start-stop like an old engine and my fingers are chewed down to short stumps. How can a Pakistani, who has followed the team since his birth, make it past his 30s? Alive, that is? This is a crazy rollercoaster ride, up and down all the time, just when you get euphoric and hopeful it’s like a plane crashing down and you just want to lock yourself up in the darkest cave and not get out again for two weeks.

But there is always something to keep your hope alive, one or two straws you can clutch to, may it be the outstanding bowling or single good innings by several batsmen, or the occasional stunning catch and determined dives in the field. And then you think, “Look at this enormous potential, they MUST win a game for Fred’s sake? No?” And you think if all team members managed to perform to their potential at the same time, if they managed to play like an orchestra, well coordinated, and used the full capacity of their brains, they would just blow the opposition away.

But somehow you can’t get them to do so. You can bet your arse that exactly those 50% of the team that did outstanding in the previous innings will fail again, and vice versa. And then the selection carousel starts spinning again. It makes you throw your hands in the sky in despair. It is like repairing a circular fence, you are hammering your way around it step by step, but wherever you have fixed it, it will break down again behind you and so you keep running and hammering for the rest of your life and never get the work done.

Now, I do not have the insight in Pakistani domestic cricket to say what has to be done especially in the Test department, but obviously there are enough people who could tear the rudder around and steer the boat into the right direction, so that at least over the long term we could see some improvement of the basics like fielding and thoughtful batting. And now that the Pakistani players have been rejected by the IPL, aren’t they available for those rumoured batting and fielding camps? 😉

I will keep following the rollercoaster team and keep laughing and crying with them, because those intense emotions also create a very strong bond. Australia feel like close relatives to me, I seem to know them and their minds like my own pocket. But if you go out on a Saturday night you will probably not go with your mum, but pick the interesting people 😀
Go Pakistan!

Cheers,
Wes.

***********************************************************************************

So guys we will soon read her other interesting posts keep in touch, Thanks for making this place valuable.

Comments are closed.

