Gaddafi Stadium Lahore celebrates its 50th year of glory with a SAD note

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore Empty

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore Empty

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore celebrates its 50th year of glory with a SAD note, no International Cricket this year and in upcoming future years at least for some of them if not most. It has his own moments of magnificent and glory for cricket and for Pakistan cricket. Most special might be the 1996 World Cup final but unfortunately Pakistan wasn’t there to compete but yet it was a great match and a low profile team Sri Lanka excelled by beating World leaders Australia. 

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore at night

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore at night

It has some memorable wins for Pakistan in test matches as well as ODIs. Gaddafi Stadium  is also the head quarter of Pakistan cricket with PCB head office in there and other important offices and academies. 

I almost daily or 5 days a week went pass this beautiful stadia and some times in the restaurants around it for eating. I never went it to watch a match not because I don’t like in fact I would love to but I wasn’t living in Lahore when there were regular International matches and even if there was some while I am here I missed due to reasons like Job or lack of partner to go with etc. But went in couple of time and once Pakistan team was practicing there before leaving to UAE for a series against Australia in April 2009. That day I saw Shoaib Akhtar and Shahid Afridi in action live in practice and also went near Javaid Miandad at a shake hand distance but he was with media about some press conference related to women cricket team so I avoid getting an auto graph or shake hand. But that was a memorable day of my life regarding cricket or Pakistan cricket and Gaddafi Stadium.

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore under attack

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore under attack

But now when ever i saw its  flood lights brightening the whole area I wonder when it will get back those crazy moments, madness, celebrations, noise, thrill and action. It all looks reddish and sad with his head down at flood lights tower by the lack of action. We can only hope for it and me being an optimistic is hoping to get cricket in Gaddafi Stadium before 2014 or 2015.

I must pray and may be you too!

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore in Action

Gaddafi Stadium Lahore in Action

PS: I started playing proper cricket once again after almost 7 years at a club called Model Town Greens Cricket Club Lahore. I am pretty excited about it and hoping to adjust time with my 8 hours job. Wish me luck 🙂

Comments are closed.

