ICC awards, 2009 – Some surprises some sound calls

ICC awards, 2009 ceremony held on 1st October, 2009 in Johannesburg was a little surprising one then usual. First at the most prestigious award Mitchel Johnson was selected as ICC Player of the year, well his performance justifies it to some extent but his recent memories in the most influenced series Ashes 2009 wasn’t good at all. although the closest contestant was Dhoni who already have ODI player of the year.

Gambhir named as Test player of the year clearly for his runs at an average of 80 odd. Closest contestant could be Strauss for his role in England’s Ashes win but awards seem to care statistics more. Dhoni is ODI player of the year with some handsome average and leading Indian side to an almost number 1 position in ICC rankings having some set backs most recently elimination from ICC Champions Trophy. In nominees closest was Sehwag but he wasn’t that consistent. West Indies Chanderpaul had played a very important role in whatever West Indies achieved throughout the year.

Dilshan named as Twenty20 International Performance of the Year for his impressive performances in calender year specially in World Twenty20 in England. But they seems to went for statistics clearly here, Shahid Afridi is more influential for his team success specially those two performances in semi final and final of World Twenty20 in England to help Pakistan take trophy home. He performed throughout year with bowl, and with bat when needed. He became a main weapon for team taking wickets and restricting batsmen to score freely. Umar Gul performed well too with accurate economical bowling but Afridi was a very strong contestant for the award. With no disregard to Dilshan brilliance I feel Afridi might be a more interesting choice for this. I might have gone little too far with this but hell thats what I feel.

Dhoni selected as a captain of world test and ODI teams, while having a good competition by Smith. New Zealand once again won Spirit of the Cricket.

Aleem Dar claimed Umpire of the year breaking six year continuous run by Simon Taufel.

PS: Wasim Akram is also included in ICC Hall of fame. 🙂


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: